Citizen of the West

Tony Frank, DVM, PhD - 2018 Citizen of the West

Tony Frank, DVM, PhD – 2018 Citizen of the West

Each year a Citizen of the West is selected from community leaders who exemplify the spirit and determination of a western pioneer. These modern day pioneers are honored for their economic and philanthropic endeavors in the West.  It is with great pleasure we announce Tony Frank, DVM, PhD as the 40th Citizen of the West!

Tony Frank is the 14th president of Colorado State University.  Since his appointment in 2008, he has overseen a period of record fund raising and enrollment growth, rising graduation rates, increasing diversity and unprecedented research support. As a result of this impressive record, he was named Chancellor of the Colorado State University System on June 1, 2015.

President Frank earned his undergraduate degree in Biology from Wartburg College, in Waverly, Iowa, followed by a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the University of Illinois. He earned his PhD in Pathology and Toxicology at Purdue University.  Prior to his appointment as CSU’s president in 2008, he served as the University’s Provost and Executive Vice President. He has served as Chairman of the Pathology Department, and Associate Dean for Research in the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

President Frank is active in local and national service and professional organizations. Currently, he serves on the board of the Food Bank for Larimer County and is the Chair of the Association of Public & Land Grant Universities Commission on International Initiatives.

He has been inducted into the Illinois and Colorado 4-H Halls of Fame, received the regional Presidential Excellence Award from NASPA (Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education) and was the 2010 Ft. Collins Board of Realtors Citizen of the Year.   He was awarded the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teaching Award at both Colorado State University and Oregon State University.

Dr. Frank and his wife, Dr. Patti Helper, reside in Ft. Collins and have three daughters.

Please join us in honoring this outstanding individual, Tony Frank, DVM, PhD, the 2018 Citizen of the West.

Date & Time: 
Monday, January 8th, 2018
5:00pm – 9:00pm
National Western Events Center
1515 E. 47th Avenue
Denver, CO 80216
– TABLE $4000 per table of 10
– SEATS $400 per person
– MAVERICK $250 per person
(must be 39 or under)

To purchase tickets or tables, please contact:

Morgan Unks, Director of Scholarship Events

  •  2016 Honoree
    Michael J. Sullivan
  •  2015 Honoree
    Philip F. Anschutz 
  • 2014 Honoree
     Fred Hamilton-Headshot
    Fred C. Hamilton 
  • 2013 Honoree
    Dr. John Matsushima - COW 2013 - sm
    Dr. John Matsushima 
  • 2012 Honoree
    Lynn Cheney 
  •  2011 Honoree
    Pete Coors 
  • 2010 Honoree
    Tom and Becky Kourlis
  •  2009 Honoree

    Robinson Brothers 
  •  2008 Honoree

    Hank Brown
  •  2007 Honoree

    Cortlandt S. Dietler
  •  2006 Honoree
    2006-Anschutz Rodgers

    Sue Anschutz-Rodgers 
  • 2005 Honoree

    George Marvin Beeman

Previous Citizen of the West Honorees

2004 – H.A. “Dave” & Jean True Family

2003 – William J. (Bill) Hybl

2002 – Albert C. Yates

2001 – Ned & Mary Belle Grant Family

2000 – Justice Byron White

1999 – W.D. “Bill” Farr

1998 – Daniel L. Ritchie

1997  – Brownie & Thurman “Fum” McGraw

1996 – Cliff Hansen

1995 – Ben R. Houston

1994 – Rollin D. Barnard

1993 – Dick Cheney

1992 – William K. Coors

1991 – Kenneth W. Monfort

1990 – Alan K. Simpson

1989 – Governor John & Ann Love

1987 – Charles C. Gates

1986 – Nicholas Robert Petry

1985 – William H. McNichols, Jr.

1984 – Allan & Gerald Phipps

1983 – Pete Smythe

1982 – Aksel Nielsen

1981 – Ed H. Honnen

1980 – Frank H. Ricketson, Jr.

1979 – Willard Simms

1978 – Robert “Red” Fenwick

Arrangements Committee

Carla Holst, Chairman

Marlie Andrews
Marcy Benson
Baba Bosworth
KK Ciruli
Deedee Decker
Brooke Fox
Carla Grant
Meg Harry
Janie Hutchison
Jeannine Hutchison
Elizabeth Hund
Jennifer Jones
Marne Davis Kellogg
Cammie Grant McKee
Audra McNicholas
Maggie Morrissey
Nancy Oliver
Brandis Becky Pelletier
Nancy Petry
Jody Randall
Pam Randall
Lindsay Serrell
Carrie Coors Tynan
Caitlin Whitham
Cille Williams
Carolyn Schaefer Wollard

Morgan Topolnicki, Event Director

Steering Committee

Rye Austin & Dan Ritchie, Chairmen

Scott Alexander
Paul Andrews
Bart Bansbach
Chase Boswell
Pete Coors
Bruce DiBiase
George Fancher
Dr. Frank Galey
Pat Grant
Mark Honnen
Buck Hutchison
Douglas Jones
Mary McBride
Charles Monfort
Judi Newman
Tom Petrie
Nancy Petry
Edward Robinson
Richard Robinson
Dick Scarlett, III
Peter Sherlock
Bill Sinclaire
Bob Tointon
Tim Travis
Hank True
Carrie Coors Tynan
Barth Whitham
Ron Williams
Court Wold

Contact Us

  • 303-299-5560
  • 303-292-1708

National Western Stock Show
Attn: Citizen of the West
4655 Humboldt Street
Denver, CO 80216